Girl in Trouble: Blog Splash and Writing Prompt

I’m delighted to take part in a blog splash to celebrate the release of the third book in Rhoda Baxter’s award nominated Smart Girls series, Girl in Trouble. I rather thought I’d be putting my feet up and handing the blog over to Rhoda. ‘No,’ said Rhoda, ‘I’d like you to write on a prompt inspired by one of the story threads in Girl in Trouble. Ah.

In Rhoda’s novel, both her heroine, Olivia, and Walter, the hero, undergo changes that they feel are bad, but end up being positive. So the prompt I kept returning to was, ‘Have you ever had a blessing in disguise?’

Like everyone, I’ve had some truly bad, downright difficult and unbearably sad times which have led to changes in my life. Losing Dad was a turning point which gave me the impetus to compete a novel, but I’d give all of my writing success, such as it is, to have a single day with him again. Other turning points are just too raw or too personal for public consumption and then I thought about something that’s happened more recently and which may at first seem rather trivial; I stopped dyeing my hair.

Returning from a holiday in the sun, eighteen months ago, with all the colour bleached from my hair I realised the game was up. I could either schlep off to the hairdressers every eight weeks or let nature do what it intended. ‘Keep young and beautiful,’ runs the old song, but I was surprised at how much resistance there was to my grey roots and the mutterings of 'you’re too young to go grey.' Men, of course, are allowed to go grey and become 'silver foxes', but despite the fact that more men are reaching for the bottle to keep time at bay, the greatest pressure still falls on women - where are the grey-haired female TV personalities? - to stay young by any means.

I’m certainly not criticising anyone else for what’s an entirely personal choice. There were plenty of times when I was tempted to throw in the towel and get my hair coloured, but Tom, Lily and Rose told me I looked great (even through the two-tone stage) and encouraged me to keep going. Nowadays I feel as if I’ve been unshackled from a demanding maniac; I’ve more time, more money and best of all, I feel like myself when I look in the mirror. This is who I am.

Yes, there are times when I miss my copper hair, but then I think about the friends and loved ones I’ve lost far, far too soon and feel fortunate and very grateful to be where I am today with children and grandchildren. In the end, it’s what’s happening in my head rather than on it that matters. Grey hair? Don’t care, because, really, there are far more important things to worry about!



Thank you so much, Rhoda for inviting me to take part in your blog splash. Here’s wishing you every success with Girl in Trouble.  Now here are those all important details about the book!

Girl in Trouble Blurb:
Grown up tomboy Olivia doesn't need a man to complete her. Judging by her absent father, men aren't that reliable anyway. She's got a successful career, good friends and can evict spiders from the bath herself, so she doesn't need to settle down, thanks.

Walter's ex is moving his daughter to America and Walter feels like he's losing his family. When his friend-with-benefits, Olivia, discovers she's pregnant by her douchebag ex, Walter sees the perfect chance to be part of a family with a woman he loves. But how can Walter persuade the most independent woman he's ever met to accept his help, let alone his heart?

Girl in Trouble is the third book in the award nominated Smart Girls series by Rhoda Baxter. If you like charming heroes, alpha heroines and sparkling dialogue, you'll love this series. Ideal for fans of Sarah Morgan, Lindsey Kelk or Meg Cabot's Boy books. Buy now and meet your new favourite heroine today.

Buy link (which should go to your preferred bookstore): books2read.com/u/4Doy6r

Act quickly! The book is on sale for 99p on the 9th and 10th of October, after which it'll climb up to £2.99. If you buy in the first week, you get some early bird bonuses - a short story collection and a recipe booklet containing recipes for the snacks mentioned in Girl Having A Ball.

Comments

Kathryn Freeman said…
It's a beautiful shade - looks more blonde than grey - and you don't look like anyone's grandma. Especially when in your running lycra :-)
Chris Stovell said…
Ah, thank you, Kate, you're very kind. x
Rhoda Baxter said…
I didn't realise your hair was grey! I thought you were blonde. (And I've met you in real life!). It looks great. I agree with Kathryn. You don't look like anyone's grandma and you're certainly way fitter than most people I know.

Thank you so much for taking part in my blog splash. I really appreciate it.
Chris Stovell said…
Thank you so much for your kind comments Rhoda, and inviting me to take part in the blog splash. Those prompts really made me think! Here's wishing you every success with Girl In Trouble, Cx
Clare Chase said…
Tom, Lily and Rose are absolutely right - you do look great! x
Chris Stovell said…
That's really kind of you, Clare - I think they were a tad biased but they all encouraged me to keep going. Cx
Blogger said…
Quantum Binary Signals

Get professional trading signals sent to your cell phone every day.

Start following our signals NOW & gain up to 270% daily.

Popular Posts